LVAAS - THE LEHIGH VALLEY AMATEUR ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY: Promoting, Facilitating and Teaching Astronomy Since 1957
Login

Welcome to LVAAS, Anonymous
Saturday, December 07 2019 @ 06:43 pm EST

Forum Index > Facilities - South Mountain and Pulpit Rock > Pulpit Rock
 Radio Telescope? Neat!
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: EBorinsky () on Saturday, February 04 2006 @ 06:23 pm EST (Read 3736 times)  
Anonymous: EBorinsky

Will most likely be joining as a member this spring. Currently own a 2.5" refractor, and a 4" reflector. Was perusing the site and found that you all had a radio telescope out at Pulpit Rock.

This caught my attention, as I have 11 years field experience with radio equipment dealing with HF thru low-band microwave, gained by working radio telecomm in the USAF. Everything from black-box maintenance down to component-level analog and digital RF device repair.

Would be interested in hearing from any other amateur radioscope users in the vicinity.

By: Anonymous: MikeEddinger () on Sunday, February 05 2006 @ 12:15 am EST  
Anonymous: MikeEddinger

E,
The radio telescope is currently not operational. It has been a work in progress for several years, and it had a brief life a while back. Renovations to the trailer it will be housed in have held things up, but those renovations have been progressing recently.
We look forward to you joining. We can always use more help.
Mike

By: Anonymous: dmurphy () on Wednesday, February 08 2006 @ 12:23 am EST  
Anonymous: dmurphy

E-

As a member of the Radio Telescope committee let me give you a little more information.